The Power Plant


Board of Directors

Paul Boniferro, President and Chair

Paul Boniferro is the former Deputy Attorney General and the Chair of The Power Plant Board. Boniferro was previously the Senior Crown Law Advisor on all government matters ranging from civil, family courts, criminal and has drafted legislation for provincial agencies such as the AGCO, Legal Aid Ontario and the Human Rights Commission.


Jason Baerg

Jason Baerg is a curator, educator, fashion designer and visual artist. Much of Baerg’s practice centres around his identity as a Métis artist. He developed and implemented the national Métis arts program for the Vancouver Olympics and founded the Métis Artist Collective. Baerg has served as volunteer Chair for organizations such as the Aboriginal Curatorial Collective and the National Indigenous Media Arts Coalition. Baerg is a practicing artist and has had solo exhibitions within Canada and internationally.


Daniel L. Bain

Daniel L. Bain is the Chief Investment Officer and founder of Thornmark Asset Management. Bain is a member of the Board of Trustees at the Gardiner Museum as well as a former Foundation Committee Member for Casey House Foundation


Dr. Mark V. Campbell

Dr. Mark V. Campbell is a DJ, scholar and curator. He is an Assistant Professor of music and culture and associate chair of the department of Arts, Culture and Media at the University of Toronto, where he also received his PhD in 2010. Campbell was a member of the board of the Ontario Arts Council.


Amanda Galbraith

Amanda Galbraith is a principal at Navigator Ltd., Canada’s leading public affairs firm. Galbraith specialises in media relations and public affairs and has over twenty years of communications experience. Galbraith is currently serving on the Board of the Canadian Club of Toronto and previously served on the board of Victim Services Toronto.


Alica Hall

Alica Hall is the Executive Director of Nia Centre for the Arts, Canada’s first professional facility dedicated to Black Art. She is key in conceptualising projects, diversifying revenue and managing relationships with private and public funders.

Headshot AH.jpg

Mitzie Hunter

Mitzie Hunter is a former Member of the Ontario Provincial Parliament for Scarborough-Guildwood. Hunter spent nine years working for the Legislative Assembly of Ontario in various roles including Minister of Education and Associate Minister of Finance. Prior to this, she was CEO at CivicAction and CEO of Toronto Community Housing. Hunter has been on the Board of Directors of TVOntario and the Board of Trustees of United Way of Greater Toronto.


Tim Kocur

Tim Kocur is the Executive Director of the Waterfront Business Improvement Area. Kocur’s background is in strategy, partnerships and team building. Kocur is currently a board member of the International Downtown Association where he represents Waterfront BIA.


Victoria Marshall, Chair of Finance and Audit Committee

Victoria Marshall is the Chief Financial Officer of Ipsos, Canada and the Chair of Finance and Audit of The Power Plant Board. Marshall is on the board and serves as a Finance Committee Member for Bata Shoe Museum and undertakes the same role for Business/Arts. She was previously Board Director and Treasurer for Friends of University Avenue.


Mila C. Miller, Chair of Fundraising and Events Committee

Mila C. Miller is the Executive Director, Strategic Planning and Advancement Organizational Development at the University of Toronto and the Chair of Fundraising and Events of The Power Plant Board. Miller has over 20 years of experience in major gift fundraising and non-profit strategic planning with specialities in higher education and the performing arts. Prior to this, she worked in major gifts for the Canadian Opera Company and managed the Patrons’ Council at The National Ballet of Canada.


David Palumbo, Vice President

David Palumbo is a Partner and the Chair of the Transactional Practice group at Baker McKenzie LLP. He is also a member of the firm’s North American Capital Markets Steering Committee and the Global Inclusion and Diversity Committee. Palumbo is the Chair of the Board for the You Can Play project, a nonprofit dedicated to ensuring inclusion of all in sports.


Susan Rabkin, Chair of Governance, Nominating, and Human Resources

Susan Rabkin is the Vice Chair and Member of The Board of Directors for Eli’s Place Residential Treatment and Transition Centre and the Chair of Nominating, Governance, and Human Resources of The Power Plant Board. Rabkin is a lawyer with over 25 years’ experience in various businesses and non-profit organizations. Rabkin was formerly general counsel to Labatt Breweries, Vice President, Legal at Anheuser Busch Canada and Director of the Children’s Aid society of London and Middlesex.


Abdullah Snobar

Abdullah Snobar is the Executive Director of DMZ, a startup incubator that provides access to coaching, capital, customers and communities needed to build companies. He serves on the Board of Rideau Hall Foundation and is a former Board Director for the Business Development Bank of Canada and the Ontario Trillium Foundation.


Katrina Rempel

Katrina Rempel is a Managing Director at BMO Capital Market. She developed Canada’s first capital introduction program and is responsible for all aspects of BMO’s capital introduction program, as well as business development for BMO Capital Markets Prime Brokerage platform.


Andy Wnek

Andrew Wnek is the current interim CEO of Harbourfront Corporation and CFO. Wnek has worked extensively in the retail industry, having spent 22 years at Canadian Tire in a number of senior finance roles and additionally was Senior Vice President and Chief Information Officer for six years. He has also held senior finance roles in the oil and gas sector and most recently in not for profits. He has also served on the Boards of several organizations including the Royal Conservatory of Music, Toronto Search and Rescue, Brands for Canada, and Momentum (a publicly traded IT company)



William J. S Boyle (1987 – 1988)

Allan MacKay (1989 – 1991)

Steven Pozel (1992 – 1997)

Marc Mayer (1998 – 2001)

Wayne Baerwaldt (2002 – 2004)

Gregory Burke (2005 – 2011)

Gaëtane Verna (2012 – 2022)

Carolyn Vesely (2022 - present)

President & Chair of Board

James D. Fleck (1987 - 1991)

Philip B. Lind (1991 - 1994)

Thomas H. Bjarnason (1994 - 1997)

Jay Smith (1997 - 2002)

Victoria Jackman (2002 - 2005)

Evan Siddall (2005 - 2007)

Lonti Ebers (2007 - 2008)

Nancy McCain (2008 - 2010)

Shanitha Kachan (2010 - 2012)

Paul Marks (2012 - 2012)

Margaret McNee (2012 - 2014)

John Matheson (2014 - 2019)

Jacques Bernier (2019 - 2022)

Tenio Evangelista (Interim President: 2022 - 2023)

Paul Boniferro (2023 - present)

Information cards



Since its opening in 1987, The Power Plant Contemporary Art Gallery has been a vibrant cultural hub, showcasing diverse art by Canadian with international artists. Learn more about gallery's history.

News & Press

Check out The Power Plant Contemporary Art Gallery's latest announcements, updates and press releases in the News & Press!